Underage DWI Lawyer In Clarksville

An arrest and conviction for DUI can lead not only to unforeseen expenses, but can also cause significant hassle. A DUI conviction can make it difficult to get to work, school and gatherings with friends. This is especially true for underage drivers who are arrested and convicted of DUI.

I am former prosecutor and criminal defense lawyer Edward E. DeWerff. I have decades of experience advising and representing clients in Clarksville, Tennessee, including those who have been arrested for teen drunk driving.

What Is Underage DWI In Tennessee?

Under Tennessee law, underage drivers who are arrested for drunk driving are not charged with DUI, but rather with underage driving while impaired, also known as underage DWI. Under Tennessee's underage DWI law, drivers under the age of 21 are considered to be legally impaired if they have a blood alcohol concentration higher than .02 percent or if they are under the influence of any other intoxicant while behind the wheel.

For drivers between the ages of 16 and 18, underage DWI proceedings are handled by the juvenile court, where those found guilty face a fine of $250 and a one year driver's license suspension. Drivers between the ages of 18 and 21 who are found guilty of underage DWI also face a $250 fine and year long driver's license suspension, but, unlike adults who are convicted of DUI, they may not apply for a provisional license to get to work or school.

Contact Me Today For A Free Consultation

When facing underage DWI charges, it is essential to contact an experienced criminal defense attorney as soon as possible. To schedule a free initial consultation with an underage DUI attorney in Clarksville, Tennessee, contact me or call 931-444-6038.